Home > Higher Education, Personal > Was Daniel Pink educated by the Jesuits?

Was Daniel Pink educated by the Jesuits?


I read Daniel Pink. I love the Pink Blog. I love Drive. I think his studies and TED talk on motivation are interesting, moving, and a hot plate for new research in higher education. Personally, his mention of “grit” in Drive has led to a small campus project revolving around what could possibly make my institution’s students stand out amongst superior business school students.

Along with this blog, I also try to do a small quote of the day e-mail to a group of people who first showed interest in it 2 years ago when I started it. Since I have taken over a director position, it has been extremely difficult to keep up and maintain it. However, I try at least once a week to send the small group a quote, a story, or a link to a blog post I found interesting. The last one I sent the group was a series of questions that Daniel Pink wants us to ask ourselves at the end of our day. Here they are:

How did the day go? What success did I experience? What challenges did I endure?

What did I learn today? About myself? About others? What do I plan to do — differently or the same — tomorrow?

Who did I interact with? Anyone I need to update? Thank? Ask a question? Share feedback?
Read them again. If you are Jesuit trained having worked at an institution and/or have been educated at an institution that is affiliated with the Jesuits, you could see this:

How did the day go? (Contemplatives in Action) What success did I experience? (MAGIS: Striving for Excellence) What challenges did I endure (Contemplatives in Action, MAGIS)

What did I learn today? (Care for the Whole Person) About myself ? (Contemplatives in Action) About others? (Being Men & Women for Others)

Who did I interact with? (Being Men & Women for Others) Anyone I need to update? Thank? Ask a question? Share feedback? (Contemplatives in Action)

So while Mr. Pink may not have been educated by the Jesuits, it certainly sent a message that fits right into their values. Or…perhaps it wasn’t his education or his thought process in making them. Maybe it was my own education and “lens” of processing that has led me to see things in light of the Jesuit values.

Either way, those series of questions are important and interesting to ask yourself – even just once a week. Try it out and see what your answers are…were you surprised?

Rock on,

Joe

 

Special thanks to Deb Cady Melzer, life coach, mentor, and former supervisor for pointing out the Jesuit message in every day occurrences and surroundings.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

